33 C
Saturday, May 8, 2021
Home NEWS Assembly Election Results: All set in Bengal, Assam, TN, Kerala, Puducherry for...

Assembly Election Results: All set in Bengal, Assam, TN, Kerala, Puducherry for counting of votes

Assembly Election Results: All set in Bengal, Assam, TN, Kerala, Puducherry for counting of votes
Image Source : PTI

Polling officers at an election materials distribution centre counter.

Counting of votes for meeting elections in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and Puducherry is all set to happen on May 2 (Sunday). Assembly elections in 4 states and one union territory have been held from March 27 to April 29. Elections in West Bengal and Assam have been carried out in eight and three phases respectively whereas polls in Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry have been held in one single part on April 6. So, keep tuned with #PollResultsOnIndiaTV from 6 am onwards on May 2 (Sunday) to get essentially the most correct and quickest outcomes

Beginning 8 am on Sunday, the counting of votes for the 822 Assembly seats unfold throughout all 4 states and Puducherry will happen at 2,364 counting halls following the COVID-19 protocols, the Election Commission (EC) mentioned on Saturday.

In 2016, the overall quantity of counting halls was 1,002. The over-200-per cent improve is as a result of distancing norms being adopted by the ballot panel to curb the unfold of the coronavirus.

EC all set for counting of votes

West Bengal can have the utmost quantity of 1,113 counting halls, Kerala 633, Assam 331, Tamil Nadu 256 and Puducherry 31, the EC mentioned.

Another purpose the fee has attributed to the rise in the quantity of counting halls is the soar in the determine of postal ballots used in the 5 Assembly polls.

ALSO READBengal Exit Poll: BJP likely to deny Mamata third term | Key takeaways

“The commission’s measures to extend the postal ballot facilities to the electors in the categories of senior citizens (those above 80 years), people with disablities and those affected by the coronavirus witnessed an increase of 400 per cent in the number of postal ballots (from 2.97 lakh in 2016 to 13.16 lakh in 2021) in the four states and a Union Territory,” it mentioned.

The fee has designated 822 returning officers and greater than 7,000 assistant returning officers for the aim of counting of votes in the 4 states and the Union Territory of Puducherry. Nearly 95,000 counting officers, together with micro-observers, will carry out the duty of counting.

No candidates or their brokers will probably be allowed contained in the counting halls and not using a unfavorable coronavirus report, in keeping with the newest result-day tips issued by the EC.

According to the knowledge acquired from the state chief electoral officers (CEOs), the contesting candidates have given the small print of almost 1.5 lakh counting brokers (together with substitutes) in the 4 states and the UT.

More than 90 per cent of them have already undergone RTPCR or RAT checks. The remaining are being supplied with the check facility by the district election officers on Saturday. Test experiences from any authorised laboratory would even be accepted, the EC mentioned.

This can also be being adopted for the counting of votes in the bypolls held to Lok Sabha and Assembly seats throughout the nation.

The media authorised by the fee to cowl the counting course of can also be being facilitated with coronavirus checks. Around 12,000 mediapersons have been given the authority to cowl the counting.

CEC opinions counting preparations

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sushil Chandra reviewed the counting preparations with senior EC officers and the CEOs of the 4 states and the UT at a digital assembly on Saturday.

He directed that each one laid-down directions of the EC have to be adhered to. He additionally directed that the counting halls have to be totally COVID tips compliant.

The CEC complimented the CEOs for a profitable completion of polling in the difficult conditions of the pandemic.

ALSO READMamata Banerjee or Suvendu Adhikari – Who will win Nandigram? IndiaTV-Peoples Pulse Exit Poll predicts

Latest India News

Source link

Most Popular