33 C
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Home NEWS BJP announces candidates for Karnataka by-polls. Check list

BJP announces candidates for Karnataka by-polls. Check list

BJP announces candidates for Karnataka by-polls. Check list
Image Source : FILE PHOTO

BJP releases candidates list for Karnataka bypolls.

The ruling BJP on Thursday introduced its candidates for the April 17 by-elections in Karnataka, fielding Mangala Suresh Angadi, spouse of late Union

Minister Suresh Angadi, from Belgaum Lok Sabha seat.

Pratapagouda Patil, who give up the Congress and joined the celebration can be its candidate in Maski meeting section; whereas youth chief Sharanu Salagar has been fielded in Basavakalyan, a BJP press launch mentioned.

By-polls to Belgaum Lok Sabha and Basavakalyan Assembly seats are necessitated following the demise of Suresh Angadi of the BJP and Congress MLA B Narayan Rao, respectively because of COVID-19 in September final yr.

While, Maski meeting seat fell vacant following the disqualification of Pratapagouda Patil for his position together with others that led to the collapse of the earlier Congress-JD(S) coalition authorities.

The bypolls shall be held on April 17 and the counting of votes will happen on May 2.

ALSO READBengal Polls 2021: BJP, TMC, Congress, Left parties’ full list of candidates


Among different components, BJP appears to be eyeing sympathy wave in favour of Mangala in Belgaum, the place Congress and JD(S) are but to finalise their candidates.

There have been talks from the start inside the BJP circles to present ticket to Suresh Angadi’s member of the family from Belgaum, and names of his daughter Shradha, together with Industries Minister Jagadish Shettar, MLC Mahantesh Kavatagimath had been doing rounds.

While, Congress has fielded Basanagouda Turvihal, who was the BJP’s candidate in 2018 and had misplaced by a margin of simply 213 votes towards Prathapagouda Patil, then with the Congress, from Maski; Mallamma, the spouse of late legislator B Narayan Rao, is its candidate in Basavakalyan.

JD(S) has named Syed Yasrab Ali Quadri, who was with the Congress earlier as its candidate from Basavakalyan, and is but to announce a candidate for Maski seat.

The gazette notification for the bypolls was issued on March 23.

The final date for submitting of nominations shall be on March 30, and its scrutiny will happen on the very subsequent day. April 3 is the final date for withdrawal of candidatures. While BJP, that has gained a lot of the bypolls after coming to energy in aiming to proceed its successful streak.

Congress that has been focusing on the ruling celebration for its alleged failures in offering good administration, corruption and impropriety following the intercourse scandal is hoping to make a mark by successful seats.

It not less than goals to retain Basavakalyan and Maski, which it had gained within the 2018 meeting elections. JD(S)’ Kumaraswamy can be hoping huge, particularly in Basavakalyan, which he has mentioned is the celebration’s “strong hold”.

ALSO READAIADMK releases list of 171 candidates for Tamil Nadu polls 2021, BJP to contest on 20 seats


Latest India News

Source link

Most Popular