33 C
Sunday, April 18, 2021
Home Sports Dutee Chand, Hima Das win sprints at IGP 2; Amoj Jacob clocks...

Dutee Chand, Hima Das win sprints at IGP 2; Amoj Jacob clocks 400m personal best

Hima Das
Image Source : GETTY IMAGES

File picture of Hima Das.

Assam’s ace sprinter Hima Das received the ladies’s 200m race whereas Odisha’s Dutee Chand dominated 100m within the second leg of the Indian Grand Prix meet right here on Thursday, whilst Delhi’s Amoj Jacob recorded personal best time to win the lads’s 400m.

Hima’s successful time of 23.31 seconds in her first race after an extended layoff as a result of again damage may very well be seen nearly as good efficiency, but it surely fell in need of Tokyo Olympic qualification time of twenty-two.80 seconds at Patiala’s National Institute of Sports right here.

Hima, the 21-year-old 2018 world junior 400m champion and nationwide report holder of fifty.79 seconds, hasn’t accomplished nicely over the one-lap race since April 2019 as a result of decrease again ache. She has now switched to shorter sprints — 100m and 200m. She can also be one of many key runners within the nationwide girls’s 4x100m relay workforce.

Despite being an Olympic qualifier competitors, there have been solely two runners within the 200m competitors right here on Thursday, with Delhi’s Simrandeep Kaur taking second spot at 24.91 seconds within the one-day competitors.

The girls’s 100m race went on anticipated strains with Odisha’s worldwide sprinter Dutee successful comfortably. She clocked 11.44 seconds. She had clocked 11.51 seconds within the first leg on February 18. Karnataka’s Daneshwari A was second at 11.89 seconds, whereas Maharashtra’s Diandra Dudley Valladares clocked 11.92 seconds for third place.

Amoj Jacob got here up with a personal best time of 46.00 seconds to win the lads’s 400m. In bettering on the 46.26 sec he clocked in June 2017, he confirmed a wise restoration from the damage that compelled him to hobble out of the race in Grand Prix I final week.

Two of his relay squad teammates — Arokia Rajiv (Tamil Nadu) and Muhammed Anas Yahiya (Kerala) — had been locked in an interesting contest over the 200m dash — a part of their general preparations. Arokia Rajiv defeated Anas, who holds the nationwide report, by 0.20 seconds, with a time of 21.24 seconds.

Jakarta Asian Games champion Tajinderpal Singh Toor of Punjab received the lads’s shot put occasion with a throw of 19.49m. Sahib Singh of Delhi was second at 17.69m and Amandeep Singh of Punjab was third with a throw of 16.96m.

In the lads’s lengthy leap essential focus was on nationwide report holder Murali Sreeshankar of Kerala, however his best was 8.05m. His personal best is 8.20m whereas Olympic qualification is 8.22m.

Uttar Pradesh’s Shekhar Singh was at 7.85m whereas Muhammed Anees of Kerala was third with a distance of seven.76m.

Uttar Pradesh’s Annu Rani’s gold successful efficiency of 61.22m too fell in need of Tokyo Olympic qualification mark of 64m. Of the six throws, her first three had been above 60m whereas the final three beneath 60m.

Sanjana Choudhary of Rajasthan was second at 53.27m and Sharmila Kumari of Haryana was third with a throw of fifty.93m.

Seasoned Karnataka’s runner MR Poovamma dominated the 400m race. Her successful time was 53. 60 seconds.

Kiran Pahal of Haryana was seconds in 54.88 secs and Subha Venkatesan of Tamil Nadu third at 55.29 seconds.

Results (all):


100m: 1. Krishnakumar Satish Rane (Maharashtra) 10.71 seconds; 2. Amiya Kumar Mallick (Odisha) 10,74; 3. Amit Tiwari (Delhi) 10.81.

200m: 1. S Arokia Rajiv (Tamil Nadu) 21.24 seconds; 2. Muhammed Anas Yahiya (Kerala) 21.44; 3. Ashok Kumar (Punjab) 21.80.

400m: 1. Amoj Jacob (Delhi) 46.00 seconds; 2. Sarthak Bhambri (Delhi) 47.12; 3. Angrej Singh (Haryana) 47.32.

1500m: 1. Ajay Kumar Saroj (Uttar Pradesh) 3 minutes 44.31 seconds; 2. Rahul (Delhi) 3:45.98; 3. Ajeet Kumar (Gujarat) 3:51.30.

Long Jump: 1. M Sreeshankar (Kerala) 8.05m; 2. Yugan Shekhar Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 7.85; 3. Muhammed Anees Yahiya (Kerala) 7.76.

Shot Put: 1. Tajinderpal Singh Toor (Punjab) 19.49m; 2. Sahib Singh (Delhi) 17.69; 3. Amandeep Singh Dhaliwal (Punjab) 16.96.

Javelin Throw: 1. Sahil Silwal (Haryana) 77.40m; 2. Rohit Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 77.33; 3. Manu DP (Karnataka) 75.28.


100m: 1. Dutee Chand (Odisha) 11.44 seconds; 2. AT Daneshwari (Karnataka) 11.89; 3. Diandra Dudley Valladares (Maharashtra) 11.92.

200m: 1, Hima Das (Assam) 23.31 seconds; 2. Simrandeep Kaur (Delhi) 24.91.

400m: 1. MR Poovamma (Karnataka) 53.60 seconds; 2. Kiran Pahal (Haryana) 54.88; 3. Subha Venkatesan (Tamil Nadu) 55.29.

1500m: 1. Chanda (Delhi) 4 minutes 15.54 seconds; 2, PU Chitra (Kerala) 4:20.98; 3. Lili Das (West Bengal) 4:21.32.

400m Hurdles: 1. R Vithya Ramraj (Tamil Nadu) 59.49 seconds; 2. Nanhi (Haryana) 1:00.13; 2. Salini V Krishna (Kerala) 1:00.44.

Shot Put: 1. Srishthi Vig (Delhi) 15.46m; 2. Kachnar Chaudhary (Rajasthan) 14.15; 3. Tulnai Narzary (Assam) 13.95.

Javelin Throw: 1. Annu Rani (Uttar Pradesh) 61.22m; 2. Sanjana Choudhary (Rajasthan) 53.27; 3. Sharmila Kumari (Haryana) 50.93

Source link

Most Popular