It was within the 18th over of the Royals’ innings and Deepak Chahar bowling to Tom Curran bought a caught behind decision from umpire C Shamshuddin. It was a horrible decision and Curran could not refer after Rahul Tewatia wasted the one DRS.
However, after session with sq. leg umpire Vineet Kulkarni, Shamshuddin understanding his error in judgement referred it to TV umpire.
The replays confirmed that neither Curran edged the ball no did Dhoni catch it cleanly because it bounced earlier than getting into his gloves.
The decision was overturned however the veteran skipper appeared very sad and was seen giving Shamshuddin a bit of his thoughts as he went for a referral after giving a decision.
Incidentally, in Jaipur final 12 months, Dhoni had misplaced his cool with home umpire Ulhas Gandhe for a waist-excessive full toss which wasn’t adjudged no ball.
In reality, Dhoni violated gamers’ code of conduct by getting into the bottom and angrily charging on the umpire.
While his anger was so much toned down throughout this incident however whether or not home match referee VN Kutty takes a word of his conduct is there to be seen.
It may both be umpires’ report or match referee can himself take word if he deems needed.