33 C
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Home Sports IPL 2021: Five-time champions Mumbai Indians eye encore but some spin worries...

IPL 2021: Five-time champions Mumbai Indians eye encore but some spin worries in way

Mumbai Indians
Image Source : IPLT20.COM

File photograph of Mumbai Indians.

A batting line-up dotted with power-hitters coupled with a strong pack of loss of life bowlers make five-time champions Mumbai Indians a formidable unit in the upcoming IPL.

But the absence of high quality spinners might damage them in pursuit of a hat-trick of title wins.

Here is a have a look at what works and what does not for the outfit led by Rohit Sharma, which opens its marketing campaign by taking up Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai on April 9.


After lifting the trophy in 2019, Mumbai as soon as once more gained in 2020 when the profitable league was shifted to UAE as a result of COVID-19 pandemic.

The win was constructed on the staff’s power — their core has remained the identical through the years and this is among the largest causes for the facet’s dominant run.

MI’s batting is their largest power they usually possess a strong opening duo in the type of skipper Rohit Sharma and South African Quinton De Kock, and if wanted, have an choice in Australian hard-hitting batsman Chris Lynn.

The ever-improving Suryakumar Yadav, younger Ishan Kishan, each of whom starred on their India debuts, the Pandya brothers — all-rounders Hardik and Krunal — and West Indian Kieron Pollard, make for a really robust middle-order.

On the quick bowling entrance, the staff possesses one of many best in Jasprit Bumrah, and the India pacer can be raring to go as soon as once more after a break from the sport.

Last season’s new addition, New Zealand’s Trent Boult proved his price by taking wickets in the powerplay, together with in the massive closing. Add Australia’s Nathan Coulter-Nile to the combo and it turns into an excellent tempo assault.


Their issues might lie in the spin division, which is a bit gentle, particularly on Chennai’s Chepauk observe. Lack of a wicket-taking spinner might damage the Mumbai Indians’ prospects.

With Lasith Malinga bidding adieu to franchise cricket, MI have been left to refill an enormous void.

Left-arm spinner Krunal, who was taken to the cleaners by the visiting England facet in the ODI collection, is extra of a restrictive choice and there’s Rahul Chahar, one of many finds of the IPL.

Off-spinner Jayant Yadav performed solely two matches in the final season and it stays to be seen what number of video games he’ll get this time round.

Mumbai have roped in skilled leg-spinner Piyush Chawla, but if the staff persists with Krunal and Chahar, he might find yourself warming the benches.

Chawla, for the report, has 156 wickets in the IPL, the third highest for any bowler in the league’s historical past.

Mumbai have a robust A facet but haven’t got sufficient replacements for every slot and have comparatively younger gamers as their bench power.


Given that each one of Mumbai middle-order batters are big-hitters, this might give the facet a bonus over others, particularly whereas chasing huge totals at locations like Chennai and Bengaluru.


All this would possibly be certain that Pollard must contribute with the ball too, and play the position of the fifth or the sixth bowler, relying on the enjoying XI that’s fielded.

Pollard, who has been with Mumbai Indians for a substantial period of time, is their second-highest run-scorer (3,023 runs) after Rohit Sharma (5,230 runs) and has grabbed 60 wickets.

Pollard has additionally smashed 198 sixes and is the second-highest for his franchise after Rohit, who has hit 213 sixes. The opponents might fancy their possibilities but MI undoubtedly have the staff to go for a sixth title and third on the row.


Rohit Sharma (Captain), Adam Milne, Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Arjun Tendulkar, Chris Lynn, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), James Neesham, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Marco Jansen, Mohsin Khan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, Quinton De Kock (wicket-keeper), Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Suryakumar Yadav, Trent Boult, Yudhvir Singh. Mahela Jayawardene (Head Coach).

Source link

Most Popular