33 C
Friday, July 30, 2021
Home NEWS LJP disaster: Chirag Paswan expels five rebel MPs; Paras-led camp removes him...

LJP disaster: Chirag Paswan expels five rebel MPs; Paras-led camp removes him as party chief

Leaving the break up vast open within the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), five MPs led by Pasupati Paras on Tuesday claimed that they’ve eliminated party nationwide president Chirag Paswan from the publish. However, Paswan mentioned that LJP referred to as a nationwide govt meet and eliminated the five rebel MPs from the party’s main membership.

The newest improvement got here a day after five of the party MPs rebelled towards late Ram Vilas Paswan’s son Chirag. The five MPs — Pashupati Kumar Paras (Hajipur), Choudhary Mehboob Ali Qaisar (Khagaria), Chandan Kumar (Nawada), Veena Devi (Vaishali) and Prince Raj (Samastipur) —met Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla on Sunday night and once more on Monday, saying that they’ve elected Paras as LJP parliamentary party leader and Kaiser as deputy leader. Late Monday night time, the Lok Sabha Secretariat issued a round confirming Paras as chief of the LJP within the Lok Sabha.

In his first response after his uncle Pashupati Paras ousted him, Paswan likened the group to a mom who shouldn’t be “betrayed”. In a tweet, he mentioned he made efforts to maintain the party based by his father Ram Vilas Paswan and his household collectively however failed.

People are supreme in a democracy, Paswan mentioned and thanked those that have stored religion within the party.

Paswan additionally shared a letter he had written to Paras, the youngest brother of his father, in March during which he had highlighted his uncle’s unhappiness over plenty of points, together with his elevation as the party president.

The sequence of dramatic occasions come months after the Bihar Assembly elections in October-November final 12 months, within the run-up to which Chirag Paswan had attacked the JD(U) and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, and stepped out of the NDA, all alongside sustaining that he wished to work with the BJP. The LJP had, nevertheless, fared poorly within the elections, with its lone MLA ultimately crossing over to the JD(U).

On Monday, the rebel MPs, whereas making it clear that the five MPs need to rejoin the NDA, positioned their confidence in “vikas purush” Nitish Kumar.

Source link

Most Popular