33 C
Saturday, July 31, 2021
Home NEWS Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsh Vardhan, Javadekar, Pokhriyal among top Modi Cabinet exits...

Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsh Vardhan, Javadekar, Pokhriyal among top Modi Cabinet exits – Full List

Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsh Vardhan, Javadekar, Pokhriyal among top Modi Cabinet exits – Full List
Image Source : FILE IMAGE

Harsh Vardhan, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank among top ministers shunted out of Modi Cabinet – Full List

Union ministers Harsh Vardhan, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Prakash Javadekar and Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank had been among the top politicians who resigned from Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Cabinet on Wednesday. The resignations got here hours earlier than a significant growth and reshuffle of his Council of Ministers wherein 43 new members will take oath.

Vardhan, a health care provider himself, had been in command of the well being ministry in addition to the science and expertise ministry because the Covid pandemic broke after which India labored to develop vaccines. However, his varied feedback in the course of the disaster had been slammed by critics as insensitive and unaware of the bottom actuality, at the same time as he strongly defended the federal government’s dealing with of the state of affairs.

Javadekar and Prasad’s resignations got here simply an hour forward of the main reshuffle.

Prasad’s exit is at least a jolt amid an ongoing faceoff between authorities and micro-running a blog platform Twitter. 

Modi Cabinet Expansion: Full Coverage

Besides, Chemicals and Fertilizers Minister D V Sadananda Gowda tendered his resignation.

READ MORE: Union Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal relieved from Modi Cabinet

Union Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ and Minister of State for Education Sanjay Dhotre resigned from the Union Cabinet. 

Pokhriyal, who examined optimistic for COVID-19 on April 21, was admitted to AIIMS in June once more following put up Covid problems. He has resigned from his put up citing well being causes. The former Uttarakhand chief minister took cost because the HRD Minister in May 2019.

Dhotre, who represents Akola constituency of Maharashtra additionally took cost as MoS for Education, Communications and Electronics and Information Technology, in May 2019.

READ MORE: Sadananda Gowda, Sanjay Dhotre resign ahead of Cabinet expansion

Union Minister of State for Environment Babul Supriyo additionally resigned from the Union Council of Ministers on Wednesday.

In a Facebook put up, Babul Supriyo mentioned, “Yes, when there is smoke there must be a fire somewhere Yes, I have been asked to resign & I have!!. I thank Honourable Prime Minister for giving me the privilege to serve my country as a Member of his Council of Ministers.”

Earlier within the day, Labour Minister Santosh Gangwar resigned from the Union Cabinet. Gangwar, who held the place of Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Labour and Employment. 

Minister of State for Women and Child Development Debasree Chaudhuri additionally stop the Cabinet on Wednesday. She was elected to the Lok Sabha from West Bengal’s Raiganj constituency within the 2019 common elections.

Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thaawarchand Gehlot had resigned after he was made Governor of Karnataka on Tuesday. Minister of State for Jal Shakti Rattan Lal Kataria too tendered his resignation.

In all, six Cabinet Ministers, one Minister of State (Independent Charge) and 5 Ministers of State have resigned.

READ MORE: Health Minister Harsh Vardhan resigns from Union Cabinet

Latest India News

Source link

Most Popular